1. Introduction
2. Classification and new names
3. Distribution
3.1. Geographical sequence
3.2. Abbreviations Canada and USA
3.3. Subdivision of present-day Russia
3.4. Abbreviations Australia
4. Gender
5. References
5.1. Printed catalogues
5.2. C.P. Alexander

3.3. Subdivision of present-day Russia

For European Russia the CCW follows the subdivision of Fauna Europaea (fig. 2). For Asiatic Russia the CCW follows the subdivision of the Catalogue of Palaearctic Diptera (fig. 1).

Subdivision of present-day Russia in the Catalogue of Palaearctic Diptera:

NET: North European territory, north of 60° NL.
CET: Central European territory, limited by 60° NL in the north and by 50o in the south.
SET: South European territory south of 50° NL up to the watershed of the main ridge of the Caucasus and bordered by Kazakhstan.
WS: West Siberia, limited by the watershed of the Urals in the west, by the border of Kazakhstan in the south, by the river Yenisei in the east (in the southeast by the river Bolshoy Yenisei).
ES: East Siberia, limited by the river Yenisei in the west and by the border of the Magadan and Khabarovsk regions (oblasts) in the east.
FE: Far East, limited by the border of the Magadan and Khabarovsk regions in the west (incl. Kamchatka, Sakhalin, Kuril Is).

Subdivision of present-day European Russia in Fauna Europaea is as given below:

RUN: North European Russia

1: Murmanskaya Oblast
2: Kareliya Respublika
3: Arkhangelskaya Oblast mainland (incl. Nenetskiy Avtonomnyy Okrug)
4: Komi Respublika
5: Vologodskaya Oblast

RUW: Northwest European Russia

6: Leningradskaya Oblast
7: Pskovskaya Oblast
8: Novgorodskaya Oblast

RUC: Central European Russia

9: Kostromskaya Oblast
10: Tverskaya Oblast
11: Yarovslavskaya Oblast
12: Ivanovskaya Oblast
13: Nizhegorodskaya Oblast
13a: Vladimirskaya Oblast
14: Smolenskaya Oblast
15: Moskovskaya Oblast
16: Ryazanskaya Oblast
17: Mordoviya Respublika
18: Chuvashkaya Respublika
19: Ulyanovskaya Oblast
20: Kaluzhskaya Oblast
21: Tulskaya Oblast
22: Lipetskaya Oblast
23: Tambovskaya Oblast
24: Penzenskaya Oblast
25: Bryanskaya Oblast
26: Orlovskaya Oblast
27: Kurskaya Oblast
28: Voronezhskaya Oblast
29: Belgorodskaya Oblast

RUE: East European Russia

30: Kirovskaya Oblast
31: Permskaya Oblast (incl. Komi-Permyatskiy Avtonomnyy Okrug)
32: Udmurtskaya Respublika
33: Bashkortostan Respublika
34: Mariy El Respublika
35: Tatarstan Respublika
36: Samarskaya Oblast
37: Orenburgskaya Oblast

RUS: South European Russia

38: Saratovskaya Oblast
39: Volgogradskaya Oblast
40: Astrakhanskaya Oblast
41: Rostovskaya Oblast
42: Kalmykiya Respublika

< Previous | Next >

Site developed by Naturalis Biodiversity Center