1. Introduction
2. Classification and new names
3. Distribution
3.1. Geographical sequence
3.2. Abbreviations Canada and USA
3.3. Subdivision of present-day Russia
3.4. Abbreviations Australia
4. Gender
5. References
5.1. Printed catalogues
5.2. C.P. Alexander

3.1. Geographical sequence

The sequence of the zoogeographic regions is Nearctic, Palaearctic, Neotropic, Afrotropic, Oriental, Australian/Oceanian. Within a zoogeographical region, the countries are listed in alphabetic order, except for the Palaearctic. Here the sequence follows Soos, Papp, and Oosterbroek (eds), 1992, Catalogue of Palaearctic Diptera, Vol. 1, as follows: Europe except former USSR; Eastern Europe formerly part of USSR; Russia; North Africa; Near East and Transcaucasus. The Macaronesian islands (Canary Is, Madeira, Azores) are listed with Spain and Portugal respectively.

< Previous | Next >

Site developed by Naturalis Biodiversity Center